The Comfort Cup

It depends…

Tea Cup Pot

Seriously, people have a single comfort food?

Comfort food on a hot day: mango kulfi

Comfort food on a cold day: minestrone soup

Comfort food when I have a sort throat: chocolate

Comfort food when I have been drenched in the rain: fried egg and mushroom sandwich

Comfort food when I fancy a snack: cheese and crackers

You see what I mean?

My family would soon tell you about me though. The secret would be out in no time. They respect no secrets as far as this is concerned. There is a weakness which I have failed to mention. I do like a nice cup of tea.

When I say I like tea, I suppose I might actually say that tea is my religion. I worship at the Saucer of Tea several times a day, from first thing in the morning until last thing at night. My beverage of choice sustains me through every difficulty, yea though I walk through the shadows, my teapot is there to comfort me and my cup runneth over.

Loose leaf tea, bagged tea (Yorkshire by choice, naturally), English Breakfast, Assam, Darjeeling (summer afternoons), chai, Imperial…

For the evenings, I prefer something decaffeinated, usually redbush, which is not tea at all but jolly nice anyway.

For an occasional change of scenery I enjoy white tea, green tea; hell, if they made it I’d drink rainbow tea.

The used leaves go on the compost or the roses. Cold tea is pretty useful for staining paper to make ancient pirate treasure maps or Magna Cartas. You can read the future with it. My daughter tells me used teabags are good for the eyes; I’m not sure if they help to improve the vision or just give you a fake tan on the eyelids, but I expect she knows best in such matters. Besides if a magazine says so it must be true.

Go with the stereotype. I’m English, sue me. All proper tea is theft!

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “The Comfort Cup

  1. Pingback: The Heritage Cook

Go on then, it's your turn

