30DC-14: A picture of someone you could never imagine your life without

I’m thinking parents are the obvious choice here; after all, they made me who I am.

It always fascinated me as a child that I might have been German or Canadian. My dad was in the army at the end of the the Second World War and in 1946 was still in Germany billeted with a doctor. The doctor had a daughter (I think called Olga) and he fell in love with her. However, due to the family’s reaction back in England at the prospect of a German in-law, the relationship ended and Dad came back to England. I’m not sure he ever quite got over it; he was certainly very pleased I learned German and used to practise some of his own German with me. Apparently when he was in a coma after his motorbike accident he spent the time talking in German.

So that was the end of my nearly being half-German.

Later, after my aunt and uncle and cousins had emigrated to Canada my parent s planned to do the same. My uncle had found my dad a job and even bought some household items for them, including a fridge. Then at the last minute dad changed his mind and my parents stayed in England.

So I wasn’t Canadian either.

Their loss is England’s gain, I think Smile

Also, hier is ein Bild von meinen Eltern. Es war ihre Silberhochzeit.

19820706 Bert and Evas Silver Wedding4

Thank you kindly.

Go on then, it's your turn

