30DC-08 – a song that you know all the words to

Let it be known to all the world that I am very happy being English. But there is one single flaw, and that is the National Anthem. It is really a bit dull. I mean, nursery rhymes are generally more complex rhythmically and offer a more challenging vocabulary. I’m sure it sounds suitably imposing when we win a medal or a World Cup – but as we rarely do that it seems a bit of  waste. I much prefer the Flanders and Swann alternative English National anthem….much jollier.

However, possibly the one benefit of attending the school which I did, in fact, attend was that we had to learn the Welsh National Anthem. In Welsh. And I remember it to this very day. In fact I find it very handy for joining in at rugby matches (where the English, bizarrely, get to sing “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”, demonstrating yet again the general unsuitability of the official anthem). My experience is that rugby matches involving the Welsh team occur more frequently than an English medal ceremony.

Go on then, it's your turn

