NaNoWriMo Day 4 – looking back in befuddlement

Where did the day go? I had a plan, a luxurious plan, to do jobs in the morning and take the afternoon to write up all the ideas buzzing in my brain, while Sigoth caught up with his leisure activity of choice. And Friends, I got quite a long way through that plan, I chored, although they went on longer than expected (don’t they always?),  and by 4 pm I was istting down typing away at all those buzzy things. Fingers flew and keys clicked in a most satufying manner. Look at me!

Then I did a word count, ready to be pleased. 1306 words.

I re-did it. Still the same. I looked at what I had written. It didn’t take long on account of it being (did I mention?) only 1306 words.

Much of the clicking and tapping had been deleting and replacing. Oh. And those ideas that took up so much head space didn’t take up much typeface. All I was doing was throwing down notes to myself about what happened here, or there, with a few phrases or brief paragraphs.

OK, time to rub the grazed knees and get back on the bike.

So I wrote some more and filled in some gaps. Then a friend Skyped and we had important things to talk about before surgery, and then an offspring arrived and we had to catch up too, so that was the evening gone. At the end of it though there were more words, of a more pleasing variety. But it has finally sunk in that NaNoWriMo is not necessarily the way to generate a novel, because it’s a bit “Never mind the quality, feel the width” (as a phrase rather than a racist sitcom). I might well get to my word count but it will need to be rewritten almost completely before it can conceive of novel-hood.

I suppose you guys all knew that. Oh well. Better late than never, dearie.

For the record, the final scores on the doors are: written in day 4063; total 20858

If nothing else, at least I am posting blogs regularly, which means I am writing more and that is probably helpful for me, If only I could read more too (small eyesight difficulty at present is making it hard).

In the words of the old blessing:

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of Her hand.

 

Namaste

 

Go on then, it's your turn

