Keep calm and make custard!

Saturday was Sigoth’s birthday; characteristically the sun shone for most of the time, the weather warmed up and there were bluebirds fluttering around his head like a halo of happiness. OK, I might have made the last bit up, but it was his day and he deserved bluebirds, or at least happiness.

We had an abortive shopping trip last week to get a present, but we shall prevail in the end. Today I did manage to present him with a card so all was not entirely lost. He also got coffee in bed and the delights of taking me into town to get my hair cut and collect mother’s pantechnicon of medication. What treats!

Upon reflection I thought perhaps it wasn’t as much of a treat as it might have been, even though we stopped in our local coffee shop for coffee and Danish pastries. Although we are a small market town we are blessed with a real life barista of global excellence, and the coffee is marvellous.

I resolved to make a cake.

Sigoth opted for a chocolate sponge sandwich when invited for an opinion. I knew he would choose it, but it’s good to let him feel part of the process. Anyway, easy peasy, lemon squeezy. I can rustle up one of those without too many traumas.

Then I discovered we were out of self-raising flour and I couldn’t remember how much baking powder to add. Plus we only had abut 30g of caster sugar so I had to use granulated. Well, my dears. Whatever I did (I did much of it with my eyes closed, so I’m not sure) it was wrong. The sponge halves came out looking more like soup plates than fluffy pillows of chocolatey goodness. Indeed, they resembled sludgey coloured soup plates that then fell apart when I removed the greaseproof paper.In the end they looked like abandoned leftovers. It was hopeless, tea was ruined. I let my family down,  I let myself down, but most of all I let Sigoth down.

This week’s Prompts for The Promptless asks us to consider the topic of a silver lining:

“Silver Lining” is a prospect of hope or comfort in a gloomy situation.  [1870-75; from the proverb “Every cloud has a silver lining”] *

That cake was certainly a gloomy situation. I needed hope and / or comfort. So I did what every rational person would do in these circumstances.

I made chocolate custard.

Now we are anticipating a bowl of chocolate sponge and custard while we watch Dr Who. Sigoth is enjoying a lovely birthday, practically perfect, and the fruits of a disaster which have had unexpected benefits.

chocolate cake and custard

This personal silver lining of the dark brown dairy-based variety works in numerous situations. There are few occasions not improved by chocolate custard, and so I commend it to you with all my heart.

Namaste.

2 thoughts on “Keep calm and make custard!

Go on then, it's your turn

