B4Peace: When I’m weary…

Every month, Bloggers for Peace sets us a challenge to post for peace using a theme or topic. This month, rather than wordify peace to perdition, Kozo has suggested we find a shorter, inspirational quote.

I love reading an in-depth post on peace, but sometimes I need a quick fix. At these times I love seeing an inspirational quotation posted in an artistic manner. For this month’s Peace Challenge, I challenge you to post a quotation that will bring peace to the world.

Well, my first three choices were snapped up pretty quickly by smarter, faster bloggers than yours truly, so I sat down and thought really hard about the kinds of quotes that keep me going in the face of adversity, be it clever-clogs bloggers or otherwise. I tried to think of a quote that I might mutter under my breath when I needed to feel peaceful, of calm, or just less murderous.

We all want peace, right? Well, OK, maybe some people don’t. But you and me, we do, don’t we?

There are days, though, when I get tired. When all my efforts are rebuffed by the mean old world and his wife. When no matter how hard I try, it seems I am getting nowhere. And when I am working for peace, doubly so. I mean, just look at the mess in the world right now. I can feel the ache in my heart because I can’t fix it. I’m a fixer, you see, and I just can’t bear it when I can’t find a way to fix something. I fall apart with frustration and misery.

What about you? Do you have those days too, or is it just me?

Well, one of the poems that most sends shivers down my spine is Wordsworth’s Valedictory Sonnet to the River Duddon. I’m not a huge Wordsworth fan. Daffodils are all very well, but let’s not get carried away with them. This poem is different though. It’s a triumph of hope over despair. When Wordsworth moved away from the river he wrote this farewell, and declared his belief that no matter how frail and insignificant we seem (cue Carl Sagan here!), we can still make a difference. In fact, we can be greater than we know and what we do can live on after us.

 

It reminds me that perhaps my feeble efforts will provide a glimmer of light to someone, one day, in a surprising way. Perhaps it is not all in vain.

So when you’re weary, feeling small, when tears are in your eyes, Wordsworth will dry them all, like a bridge over the River Duddon.

Other bloggers have written more movingly, amusingly or just plain eloquently than I, and you can soothe your minds with their offerings:

http://grandmalin.wordpress.com/2013/09/05/september-post-for-peace/

http://rarasaur.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/kind-of-a-stupid-game/

http://fishofgold.net/2013/09/02/peace-through-insignificance/

http://fecthis.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/bloggers-for-peace-monthly-peace-challenge-quote-this/

http://lauriesnotes.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/18811/

http://publictransituser.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/monthly-peace-challenge-quote-this/

Namaste.

 

5 thoughts on “B4Peace: When I’m weary…

  1. Pingback: Monthly Peace Challenge: Quote this | Chronicles of a Public Transit User

    • I do rather like it even though I think Wordsworth was dreaming of his own immortality in a less than humble way.
      [[[hugs]]]

  2. Pingback: Like Pieces of Glass… | CardCastlesInTheSky

  3. Pingback: Quotes – a Bloggers for Peace post | Becoming a writer

Go on then, it's your turn

