Most people don’t realise

bfmh14-copy-e1388959797718

 

Today I have five things to share with you. Buckle up, blogfriends!

  1. Most people don’t realise that I learned to play classical guitar.
  2. Most people don’t realise that I wore built-up shoes as a child due to knock-knees.
  3. Most people don’t realise that I am genuinely ambivalent about Marmite.
  4. Most people don’t realise that I don’t recognise faces easily.
  5. Most people don’t realise that I have wanted to kill myself.

We hide, intentionally or not, many facets of our lives. Sharing everything would be information overload of the most intense variety. However, depression and mental illness are too often hidden because of stigma.

This post is a contribution to the Blog for Mental Health Project 2014. You can read more about it by following these links.

http://acanvasoftheminds.com/2014/01/07/blog-for-mental-health-2014/

http://blogformentalhealth.wordpress.com/

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”  

What don’t people always realise about you?

Namaste.

 

5 thoughts on “Most people don’t realise

  1. Blogging for mental health is great; I’ve seen this on other blogs and I hope it makes a positive difference to people. And kudos to you for sharing painful things in the hope it’ll do good for others.

    Most people don’t realise… that I like woodlice because I was given a book about them when I was little.

    • I was marked down in a biology practical because they asked how many legs the woodlouse we were given had. Mine had five. As I said to the teacher, if you had asked how many it should have I could have told you. She was not impressed.

  2. Pingback: Electronicbaglady’s Bag of Bits | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Go on then, it's your turn

